Charitable Organization
  Governance / Board List
All About Grants
Mobile Health
Important Links
Support Our Work
Comments / Subscribe
Contact Us
Add A Link




This site is best viewed
with Internet Explorer.


A board of 20 directors governs St. Luke's Episcopal Health Charities (SLEHC), and its operations are facilitated through three standing committees: Community Health Assessment, Grant Evaluation, and Healthcare Philanthropy.

The board sets policies and procedures to ensure the efficient and appropriate distribution of funds in accordance with community needs, SLEHC mission, and Texas law. John T. Cater serves as chairman, while The Right Reverend Claude Payne, Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas, and Michael Jhin, President and Chief Executive Officer of St. Luke's Episcopal Health System, serve as ex-officio members.

Committee chairs are:

  • M. David Low, M.D., Ph.D., Community Health Assessment
  • Florence Wells McGee, Grant Evaluation
  • Paul B. Murphy, Jr., Healthcare Philanthropy
  • Carla M. Cooper, Ph.D., Senior Vice President, SLEHS, serves as Executive Director of SLEHC

2003 Board of Directors


Mr. John T. Cater
Retired Director, Compass Bank

Ex-Officio Officers

The Rt. Rev. Claude E. Payne
Episcopal Diocese of Texas

The Rt. Rev. Don A. Wimberly
Bishop Coadjutor
Episcopal Diocese of Texas

Mr. Michael K. Jhin
President and Chief Executive Officer
St. Luke's Episcopal Health System

Mrs. Franci N. Crane
Community Volunteer

The Rev. John K. Graham, MD
Associate Rector
St. Martin's Episcopal Church

Mrs. Maureen O. Hackett
Community Volunteer

The Reverend Canon Dena A. Harrison
Canon to the Ordinary
Episcopal Diocese of Texas

Mrs. Evelyn E. Howell
Community Volunteer

Mrs. Marjorie Bintliff Johnson
Community Volunteer

Darwin R. Labarthe, M.D., MPH, Ph.D.
Professor of Public Health
University School of Texas Houston Health

M. David Low, M.D., Ph.D.
Rockwell Chair and Director
University of Texas-Houston
School of Public Health

Mrs. Myra A. McDaniel
Bickerstaff, Heath, Smiley, Pollan, Kever and McDaniel, LLP
Mrs. Florence Wells McGee
Community Volunteer

Mr. Clark Moore
Executive Director
Ubi Caritas Clinic and Health Center

Mrs. Catherine Clark Mosbacher
Attorney/Community Volunteer
Mosbacher Energy

Mr. Paul B. Murphy, Jr.
President and CEO
Southwest Bank of Texas, N.A.

Mrs. Mary M. Robson
Palmer Memorial Episcopal Church

The Reverend Frankie Paul Rodriquez
Calvary Episcopal Church

Peggy B. Smith, Ph.D.
Professor and Director
Baylor College of Medicine Teen Health Clinic

The Reverend Henry W. Strobel, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
University of Texas Medical School

Mr. David M. Weekley
David Weekley Homes

Mrs. Gloria S. White
Community Volunteer

Diocese of Texas Liaison

Mrs. Sally Bell Rutherford
Outreach Coordinator
Episcopal Diocese of Texas

Executive Director

Carla M. Cooper, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President, St. Luke’s Episcopal Health System
Chief Executive Officer, St. Luke’s Episcopal Health Charities

Copyright © 2001 St. Lukes Episcopal Health Charities. All Rights Reserved.